The Bhutan Society of the UK 

Home        About us        Join us        Events        Newsletters        Links        News        Trust Fund

About the Society

The Bhutan Society of the United Kingdom was founded on October 6th 1992 in response to the growing connections between the two countries. The Society held its Inaugural Meeting in London on Bhutan National Day, December 17th 1992.

The Bhutan Society of the United Kingdom has a national membership of around 500 people - ranging from people with a professional interest in the culture, flora and fauna of Bhutan to those who have visited the country and wish to maintain a link after their visit and Bhutanese students resident in the UK.

The Society organises a series of lectures and talks throughout the year, usually in Central London. In addition, revent events further afield have included trips to see Bhutanese gardens in Yorkshire and an exhibition of Buddhist art in Paris. An annual dinner is held every Autumn, which allows members to renew friendships and meet some of the Bhutanese students resident in the UK.

A newsletter containing news about Bhutan, a list of upcoming events and review of recent events is published three times a year.

Aims of the Society


Committee of the Society

President Sir Simon Bowes Lyon KCVO
Vice President Michael Rutland OBE rutland.michael@gmail.com

Executive Committee

Chairman Andrew Sutton andrewsutton001@aol.com
Secretary David Glazebrook davidglazebrook@outlook.com
Treasurer Dorji Wangchuk dorji.wangchuk@outlook.com
Membership Rosie Glazebrook rosieglazebrook@hotmail.com
Student Liaison Dee Cano deecano108@gmail.com
Newsletter Editor Sylvia Robert-Sargeant editor@bhutansociety.org
Programme Group Secretary Nicholas Thompson n.thompson@rediffmail.com
Dinner Secretary Elizabeth Jacobson tookiej@btinternet.com
Website Co-ordinator Lucy Hornberger website@bhutansociety.org

Safeguarding Policy

Information about the Society's Safeguarding Policy can be found here.

Data Protection Policy

Information about the Society's Data Protection Policy can be found here.


Home        About us        Join us        Events        Newsletters        Links        News        Trust Fund